The Image Counsellor

Pearly whites

Posted on: January 15, 2009

bracesWent for my over-due dental appointment today. 10min of Scaling and polishing cost me S$55 and it’s worth it because it keeps my gum and teeth healthy and clean. It’s like removing pimples from the face. Getting an X-ray before putting on my braces which will cost me S$140. The price range for braces in Singapore is S$3500 and above. This is excluding surgery and miscellenous charges.

An aquaintant brought up the alignment of my teeth several years back however I did not bother about it. However after joining this image consultation industry I realised the importance of looking good even when you are smiling. You can show off the pearly whites, but are they shiny and aligned? Some might have bunny teeth, others might have chipped tooth due to a fall. Mine? It’s because my jaw is too small to house all my teeth and I had too much coffee as a kid so that explains for the stains. That new smile would be worth more than a million bucks to me. And would certainly bring up my self-esteem.

Orthodontics is a specialty of dentistry concerned with alignment of the teeth. Braces are recommended to improve the patient’s bite alignment and/or appearance. With braces problems like crooked or crowded teeth, uneven spacing, overbites or underbites can be corrected. At appointments when wires and elastics are tightened, mild pressure is put on the teeth to shift them gradually into a desired position. Because of this your teeth may feel slightly sore after each visit, but the discomfort is mild and brief. And I would expect to put on the braces about 2 years! Pray for me!

Leave a Reply

